Sports…

A blog post that should have been written September 26, 2016… Finally brought to life.

I have always been quite active and I really enjoy sports. When I moved to Guangzhou, I wondered if I would be able to find sports that I liked and enjoyed playing. Luckily, many of my coworkers are also quite active and I was able to join a few groups of like minded people to play sports.

Monday nights, we play badminton. I have not played badminton since I was in high school.. but I am really enjoying learning how to play from my coworkers who are much better at it than I am.

image

This is me, all sweaty after a game of badminton in a gym that was not air conditioned on an evening that was plus 37 degrees Celsius.

Thursday nights is floor ball night. We take a car downtown to the American international school and play a game of floor ball (like floor hockey but with a ball instead of a puck).

image

There is also of course our Saturday morning boot camp. Each week is a new group of people who come, and some weeks I don’t get there either, but it is fun, and best of all, free as one of our co-workers runs the show!

img_2830

Lesson learned: Finding groups of people to do things with and activities to enjoy help to make you feel like you are living a”normal” life, not the life of an expat in a foreign country.

 

2 thoughts on “Sports…

  1. Jenn Flynn says:

    Nice work Kim!!! I’m surprised you haven’t sought out an aqua zumba class 😉 Love that you are finding fun things to do to normalize life a bit with friends there. So proud of you and love reading about your adventures! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

