Adventures in arriving…

A blog post from August 15th, 2016 that is finally being brought to life!!!

The plan sounds pretty simple… get on the first flight (Edmonton to Vancouver), then the long flight (Vancouver to Beijing), then the LAST leg of the journey (Beijing to Guangzhou). Simple, right???

Nope!

Not when most of the flights out of Beijing are cancelled…. Mine included…

img_1722

So what does that mean for me? Having to find someone who speaks English to tell me that my flight is cancelled. Then, getting on a bus to a hotel (with none of my luggage) and waiting in line with people from 40 other cancelled flights to get a room. Finally getting to my room at 11:35 pm, only to have to wake up again the next day at 5 am. And last but not least, going back to the airport to get in line and wait 4 hours to be rebooked on the next available flight.

img_1728

Needless to say, I did arrive at my destination, 27 hours later than I was supposed to. And.. with all of my luggage!!!

img_1732

Lesson learned – there are direct Vancouver to Guangzhou flights that do not require a stop over in Beijing.. something I wish that I had known before I booked my ticket. Oh well, there is always next time!!!

Leave a Reply

